Qualifications, standards and micro-credentials

Our role for qualifications, micro-credentials and standards

Muka Tangata is responsible for developing and maintaining qualifications, micro-credentials and standards for the food and fibre industries in our coverage area.

These qualifications and standards were previously managed by Transitional Industry Training Organisations.

To view more information on the qualifications, micro-credentials and standards that we manage, click on the links below:


Identifying which qualifications and unit standards have been transferred to Muka Tangata

All qualifications and standards have been updated on NZQA’s system and you can find out which ones have been transferred to Muka Tangata by searching NZQA’s website: 

  • For qualifications, search for the qualification by keyword or qualification number on the NZQF.  Click on the qualification to view the name of the current qualification developer.  
  • For standards, search for the unit standard by number (or via field/subfield/domain) on the Directory of Assessment Standards. The name of the current standard-setting body is displayed on the resulting screen.  Note: the individual Word and PDF documents relating to the standard will still show the previous standard setting body’s details. 


Skill Standards

Over time, skill standards will replace unit standards as the core components of vocational programmes. VET participants (including iwi and hapū Māori, industry and providers) will have the opportunity to contribute to the development of skill standards where they have interest in the subject area. When unit standards are replaced, this will be communicated to providers with existing consent to assess, and there will be time to update existing programmes to reflect new skill standards.


For additional information or advice

Frequently Asked Questions ›

Contact us