2023 Ahuwhenua Young Māori Grower Award

The Ahuwhenua Young Māori Grower Award recognises and celebrates the achievements of young Māori farmers who are making a significant contribution to the agriculture industry in Aotearoa.

This years finalists are: 

  • Alix Te Kere (Ngāti Kuhungunu, Ngāti Tu, Ngāti Maru, Ngāti Maniapoto) – Health and Safety Advisor, Rockit Management Services, Hastings.
  • Erica Henare (Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Maniapoto) – Pip Fruit and Kiwifruit Manager, Kono NZ LP, Motueka.
  • Grace Rehu (Rangitāne, Taranaki) – Leading Hand Turners and Growers, Puketapu, Hawke’s Bay.

The award identifies and acknowledges the hard work, knowledge, and skills that young Māori farmers have contributed to the food and fibre industry. The competition provides a platform for young Māori to showcase their training, experience, and knowledge of the land, which is rooted in mātauranga Māori.

The Ahuwhenua Young Māori Farmer and Grower award was inaugurated in 2012 and is designed to recognise up and coming young Māori in the AGRICULTURE and horticulture sectors. This is only the second year the competition for the Young Māori Grower has been held.

We understand the importance of developing people to flourish in their work is important to the ongoing success of the sector – this award showcases talented young Māori farmers and horticulturalists and works to encourage other rangatahi to consider agri-business as a career.

Muka Tangata Chair Erin Simpson (Te Atiawa, Taranaki) brings many years of experience in the sector to his role as Lead Judge for the 2023 Ahuwhenua Māori Young Grower award.

We look forward to seeing the winner announced at the awards dinner held on 9 June.